Aggies go Coast-to-Coast in 2019-2020

by Travis Normand
March 2, 2020

Update: March 8, 2020 – Originally, I wrote that the Aggies will not play in the state of Oklahoma, but apparently the RRRC Championship game has been moved and will be at OU’s campus. Therefore, the Aggies will add another state (Oklahoma) to their list for this season.

If you read my re-cap of the game against Life University then you have probably already seen this information. However, I wanted to post this excerpt from that re-cap, as I thought it was a point of interest for anyone following Texas A&M Rugby.

The Aggies are serious about playing the best teams in the county, and they are serious about providing the members of their rugby club with an amazing rugby experience. When the 2019-2020 XVs season comes to a close, the Aggies will have played IN the following six different states: Texas (obviously), Louisiana, Oklahoma, Georgia, South Carolina, and California.

Further, while the Aggies did not travel to the following states, they will have played teams from: Utah (BYU) and Wisconsin.

The Aggies have apparently taken on a “road warrior” mentality, and they will have traveled coast-to-coast before all is said and done. The following is a list of 2019-2020 travel locations and out-of-state teams played:

(Note: this is not a full schedule and does not include the games played against the Longhorns, Baylor, LSU, and Texas Tech; all of which were played in Texas.)

  • September 6, 2019: No. 24 Clemson (game in South Carolina);
  • November 23, 2019: LSU (game in Baton Rouge, Louisiana);
  • January 24, 2020: No. 7 BYU (from Utah; but game was in College Station, Texas);
  • February 29, 2020: No. 4 Life University (game in Marietta, Georgia);
  • March 8, 2020: Santa Clara University (game in California);
  • March 10, 2020: Cal Poly (game in California);
  • March 19, 2020: University of Wisconsin (from Wisconsin, but game in College Station, Texas); and
  • March 28, 2020: University of Oklahoma (RRRC Championship game in Norman, Oklahoma).

This also means that during this 2019-2020 season, the Aggies will have played clubs from the following five D1A Rugby conferences: (1) the Red River Conference, (2) the Big Ten Conference, (3) the Mid-South Conference, (4) the Rocky Mountain Conference, and (5) the California Conference.

All of the above concerns only XVs competition.

However, the Aggies also qualified for the Collegiate 7s National Championship back in October 2019 when they won the RRRC 7s Conference Tournament. I don’t believe the location of the National Championship has been determined but it will likely be played in the late Spring of 2020. Assuming it is located out-of-state, the Aggies will be adding at least one more location to this list.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s